Dog Licensing

The State of Maine requires all dogs be licensed after six months of age or within 10 days of ownership. Licenses expire December 31st of each year. A late fee of $25.00 per dog will be charged after January 31st.

License your dog online here!
(Only available from October 15th- January 31st)

A Municipal Warrant will be issued to the Animal Control Officer by April 1st of each year listing the names and addresses of all owners or keepers of unlicensed dogs. Those owners will then be notified to obtain a license from the Municipal Clerk within seven days from the date of the demand and remit to the Clerk the license and recording fee, plus a late fee of $25.00 for each dog. Proof of the current certificate of Maine Rabies Vaccination MUST be shown at the time of licensing. If your dog has been spayed or neutered, you will need to show that certificate as well.

License Fees:
  • $11.00 Male/Female
  • $6.00 Neutered/Spayed
  • $42.00 Kennel 1-10 Dogs
  • $1.00 Replacement License
  • $1.00 Transfer License
  • $25.00 Late Fee after Jan. 31st 
To view the State Statutes on Dog Licensing, please visit the Maine Legislature for Animal Welfare at: Maine Legislature Statutes for Animal Welfare

Dog Licensing FAQ

Why should I license my dog?
  1. It's the law
  2. A license tag helps animal control and shelters quickly identify your dog and get them back to you safely. If your dog is found wandering the streets, a rescue organization can easily look up your dog via its tag number.
  3.  Licenses cost less than the fine for an unlicensed dog. The fine for an unlicensed dog can be up to $250!
  4. Dog licensing helps to ensure that all dogs are up to date on their rabies shots, keeping the people and animals around them safe.
  5. License fees support many causes (see below)
When do dogs need to be licensed?
All dogs need to be licensed upon reaching the age of 6 months in the town where it resides. Or after the dog has been with the family for 10 days, if adopted.
What happens if I lose my dog's tag before it's time to renew the license?
You will need to obtain a new tag from the Town Office for a fee of $1.
May a dog run at large* in the State of Maine?
It is unlawful for any dog to run at large except when it is used for hunting.
*At large means off the premises of the owner and not under the control of any person
What do dog licenses pay for?
The dog licensing fees support:
  • Local Animal Control Officers and State Humane Agents
  • Investigation of animal cruelty complaints and enforcement of animal welfare laws
  • Compliance with rabies vaccination of dogs
  • Care for sick and injured stray animals
  • Return of lost dogs to their owners